Tue. May 21st, 2024

How to Watch Israeli Premier League 2022-23 Match. The 2022–23 Israeli Premier League, also known as Ligat ONE ZERO for sponsorship reasons, will be the 24th season since its introduction in 1999 and the 81st season of top-tier football in Israel. A total of fourteen teams will compete in the league, including twelve sides from the 2021–22 season and two promoted teams from the 2021–22 Liga Leumit.

Maccabi Bnei Reineh and Sektzia Ness Ziona were promoted from the 2021–22 Liga Leumit. Maccabi Bnei Reineh was promoted for the first time in his history, Sektzia Ness Ziona returned after two seasons in the second league. Hapoel Nof HaGalil and Maccabi Petah Tikva were relegated to the 2022–23 Liga Leumit after finishing the 2021–22 Israeli Premier League in the bottom two places.

4 March 2023Maccabi Raina vs Sektzia Nes Tziona
4 March 2023Moadon Sport Ashdod vs Bnei Sakhnin
4 March 2023Maccabi Tel-Aviv vs Hapoel Jerusalem

Israeli Premier League

The Israeli Premier League, also known as Ligat Ha’Al or Tel Aviv Stock Exchange League for sponsorship reasons, is the top-tier football category in Israel. Each year, fourteen teams fight for the title.

As is the case with most leagues around the world, the Israeli Premier League works under a promotion-relegation system. Two clubs are relegated to the Liga Leumit by the end of the season, with two teams from that league taking their place in the Israeli top-flight.

All Israel Premier League clubs play 26 regular-season games. Once that stage is over, the top six clubs in the league enter the championship playoffs, while the remaining eight enter the relegation round. The teams that make it to the championship round face their rivals twice, while the other eight only play against their rivals once. The team with the most points after the championship round win the title, while the two teams with the lowest amount of points are relegated to the Liga Leumit.

The Israeli Premier League hands four spots to play European competitions in the subsequent season. The winner of the tournament enters the preliminary rounds of the UEFA Champions League, while the runners-up and the third-placed side enter the preliminary stages of the UEFA Europa League. An additional spot is awarded to the Israeli cup champions.

Did you know? Maccabi Tel Aviv, Maccabi Haifa, Hapoel Tel Aviv, Beitar Jerusalem and Hapoel Be’er Sheva are the most dominating teams in the Ligat Ha’Al.

Israeli Premier League Stadiums and locations

Team Location Stadium Capacity
Beitar Jerusalem Jerusalem Teddy Stadium 31,733
Bnei Sakhnin Sakhnin Doha Stadium 8,500
F.C. Ashdod Ashdod Yud-Alef Stadium 7,800
Hapoel Be’er Sheva Be’er Sheva Turner Stadium 16,126
Hapoel Hadera Hadera Netanya Stadium 13,610
Hapoel Haifa Haifa Sammy Ofer Stadium 30,858
Hapoel Jerusalem Jerusalem Teddy Stadium 31,733
Hapoel Tel Aviv Tel Aviv Bloomfield Stadium 29,400
Ironi Kiryat Shmona Kiryat Shmona Kiryat Shmona Stadium 5,300
Maccabi Bnei Reineh Reineh Green Stadium 5,200
Maccabi Haifa Haifa Sammy Ofer Stadium 30,858
Maccabi Netanya Netanya Netanya Stadium 13,610
Maccabi Tel Aviv Tel Aviv Bloomfield Stadium 29,400
Sektzia Ness Ziona Ness Ziona Hamoshava Stadium 11,500

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *